Unity Worldwide Ministries History

The Association of Unity Churches was created in the mid-1960s to serve the needs of the churches and ministers throughout the movement.

As the Unity movement was growing, it became increasingly complex to manage the needs of the field ministries. In the mid-1960s, Unity School of Christianity suggested that Unity ministers form a group to support the work of the churches. This resulted in better services for the churches and ministers.

Our organization's overarching/ongoing services include:

  • Progressive, transparent, frequent and interactive communication through multiple mediums
  • Education, CE credits, credentialing 
  • Employment services for ministers and ministries
  • Expansion ministry support
  • Leadership training and development for boards, ministry teams, etc.
  • Administrative support/consulting – HR policy, IRS, pension, manse, etc.
  • Ministry Consulting and Ministry Transition Support (formerly Peace Skills) and ethics peer review
  • Events – Convention, Annual Summit, IYOU, Youth & Family Ministry training, ministry team meetings, consultant trainings
  • Marketing of UWM’s services and products to the field

The formation of the Association of Unity Churches created two major organizations within the movement─the Association being the lesser-known. In 2011, the Association of Unity Churches International adopted the Unity Identity Program. As a result, we changed our name to Unity Worldwide Ministries. This focus on the Unity brand is uniting and strengthening our movement, making us more easily recognizable to the general public.

In 2016 Unity Institute closed its doors and Unity Worldwide Ministries took over the responsibility for training our Unity ministers and licensed teachers. In the fall of 2016 Unity Worldwide Spiritual Institute went live with a totally online school. This school not only serves our future Unity leaders, but all those who are interested in our teachings. Anyone who wants to know more about Unity and its principles can now go to www.UWSI.org and sign up for classes.

In 2017 Unity World Headquarters at Unity Village invited Unity Worldwide Ministries and Unity Worldwide Spiritual Institute to once again reside on Unity Village grounds. In August 2017 UWM packed up our offices and moved into the previously-known Education Building. This is the same building that houses the Peace Chapel and Fillmore Chapel. Once again the leadership of the Unity movement is located at Unity Village.

A history of Unity

"Development of Unity Worldwide Ministries" article  by Tom Thorpe


Rev. Toni Fish





Rev. Sharon Ketchum





Rev. Richard Bunch





Rev. Karen Tudor





Tim Alderman (1st Lay Leader)






Rev. Diane Venzera





Rev. Mary Masters





Rev. Julie Armour






Rev. Jim Lee






Rev. David McArthur






Rev. Julie Montague






Rev. Marilyn Muehlbach






Rev. Dan Holloway






Rev. Pat Williamson






Rev. Roger Goodwin






Rev. Juan Enrique Toro






Rev. Argentina Glasgow






Rev. Clare Austin






Rev. Diane Sickler






Rev. Richard Mantei






Rev. Sharon Connors






Rev. John Strickland






Rev. Jimmie Scott






Rev. Norma Iris Rosado






Rev. Joel W. Baehr





Rev. Martha "Pat" Barker






Rev. Alan Rowbotham






Rev. Edie Skalitzky






Rev. R. Scott Sherman






Rev. Nancy Neal






Rev. V. Stanford Hampson






Rev. Maya Brandenberger






Rev. Jim Rosemergy






Rev. Larry Swartz






Rev. Marshall "Max" Lafser






Rev. Jay Dishman
♦1982-1983 (2 terms)





Rev. Jack Barker





Rev. Ruth Mosley






Rev. David McClure






Rev. Jack E. Boland





Rev. Bernard Dozier






Rev. Paul C. Barrett





Rev. Joyce Kramer






Rev. James C. Lewis





Rev. Robert L. Stevens





Rev. Dorothy M. Pierson





Rev. Grover Thornsberry





Rev. Glenn Mosley






Rev. Phillip M. Pierson






Rev. Johnnie Colemon






Rev. William W. Helmbold





Rev. Mary L. Kupferle





Rev. Charles A Neal